Three MFPL group leaders elected as members of the Austrian Academy of Sciences ÖAW


On 22nd April, the Austrian Academy of Sciences elected 40 new members. Among them were three group leaders from MFPL: Arndt von Haeseler and Robert Konrat are among the seven new Corresponding Members of the Division Mathematics and Natural Sciences (domestic) of the ÖAW and Angela Hancock joins the ÖAW’s Young Academy. Many congratulations!

Arndt von Haeseler heads the Center for Integrative Bioinformatics Vienna (CIBIV) which focuses on reconstructing evolutionary history with the aim to understand the processes that have shaped the genomes of contemporary species. In recent years the CIBIV worked also on methods to analyze high throughput data generated in molecular biology.

Robert Konrat has introduced a new theoretical conception of protein structural biology (the meta-structure) that allows sequence-to-function annotation of proteins and drug design. His group is working on the development of new NMR spectroscopy methods to unravel protein plasticity.

Angela Hancock and her team use an island model system of Arabidopsis (the plant molecular biology model organism) from the Cape Verde Islands to examine in detail the mechanisms of adaptation to an extreme environment.

Over 750 outstanding domestic and foreign scholars of almost all disciplines are members of the ÖAW. They set the tone for research, advise decision-makers of politics, economy and society, and engage with the public. The Academy’s learned society has full, honorary, and corresponding members as well as members of the Young Academy. Members are chosen based on their outstanding scientific accomplishments and elections are held once per year. The Young Academy consists of up to 70 junior scientists below 45 years of age and membership lasts for eight years. The Young Academy actively contributes to strengthening innovative research and the promotion of young researchers.

The official award ceremony will take place on 15th October 2015.